top of page

Music+Study Hall=???

Should you study while listening to music? With access to music anytime anywhere as easy as it is today, we often have to ask ourselves this question. Many studies have been done on this topic and from what I have read, they all seem to come to the same conclusion. It depends. It depends on the person. It depends on the music. It depends on the topic of study.

Music has been proven to improve people's moods and productivity, which, obviously, can have huge benefits when it comes to studying and homework. While studying, you should not be too relaxed or too energized, and music is a quick and easy way to get yourself just where you need to be. Music is also a great way to block out distractions, until it becomes a distraction itself. I have often heard that you should not listen to music with lyrics while studying, but studies show that lyrics only have significant negative effects when reading or writing. Since math based studies don’t involve language, it’s generally okay to listen to mellow music with lyrics as long as you aren’t too easily distracted.

Personally, I find it very difficult to study without music. I get easily distracted by things around me and music helps me to get in the mood to buckle down and finish an assignment. It is very important, however, that I’m listening to the right kind of music. If I have to write an essay (or a FLASH article) I usually go with movie scores, piano covers, or orchestral arrangements. (For all you band folks, the Air Force Academy has a spectacular rendition of Resplendent Glory on Spotify.) If I’m doing math, chemistry, or physics I often listen to mellow acoustic or accapella groups. (James Taylor, Bruce Springsteen, Hey Marcellus, Peter Hollens, and Pentatonix are some of my go to’s.) I’ve also found that listening to music in other languages works pretty well. (Juan Luis Guerra is all you really need, to be honest. Just stay away from Senor Wooly.)

Again, it really comes down to personal preference. Some people can study with music, some can’t. It’s all about knowing what will distract or motivate you.

November 11

College Visitor's Day

Band Concert 7:00

Fall Musical: She Loves Me 7:30

​

November 12

Student Performances 7:00

Fall Musical: She Loves Me 7:30

​

November 15

Girls BB vs Cadott

​

November 17

Girls BB vs Lincoln

​

November 19

Game Night 7:00

​

Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Upcoming Events

bottom of page