top of page

Senior Spotlight: Mark Brown-Kempenaar


When we first began the “interview,” I simply said to Mark:

“Okay, you know the drill.”

And he looks up and says to me, “No, no I have no clue how this thing works. I haven’t read a single senior spotlight.”

I laughed and told him he would catch on easy enough. Then, I started asking…. the “questions!”

Grace: So, when and where were you born?

Mark: Waupun, WI on Dec. 20th, 1998.

(After several tries, I finally managed to spell his town name correctly.)

G: Favorite pastime as a child?

M: Mud sledding, with Greg.

G: Who’s Greg?

M: Don’t worry about it, everyone knows who Greg is.

G: Favorite memory during your high school years?

M: Brent puking in choir, after eating a chicken patty.

G: Favorite song from the 60’s and 70’s?

M: “Logical Song” by: Supertramp

G: Favorite song from nowadays?

M: “Now My Feet Won’t Touch the Ground,” by: Coldplay

G: If you could go on a road trip, anywhere, with any band, what band would you go with?

M: Coldplay, that might sound bland, but Coldplay for sure.

G: Name a place that you really want to go to one day.

M: Australia.

G: Favorite Bible passage?

M: Well, I have two, you see. I have a more serious one, Thessalonians 5:16-18, but, I also have my funnier one. The funnier one is Proverbs 19:24. This is the one talking about the lazy man, and it reminds me of the fat guy, that wears the chicken suit, in Toy Story 2, with his hand in the bowl of Cheetos.

(Now guys, I am just going to let you believe that he had those passages in his head, and not that he spent several minutes trying to find out which ones he was talking about, okay?)

G: Where do you want to be in five to ten years?

M: Still singing/playing and writing my music, hopefully famous for it.

G: Okay Mark, to seal the deal, what is your favorite quote? It can be by a famous person, a friend, family member or even a Prof.

M: I think it’ll be the quote that my grandpa said to me, a little while before he died. He told me, “ I don’t know what you’re going to do, but do it, just do it.”

Miniature Favorites:

Favorite el profesor?: Gullerud, yeah, Gullerud.

Favorite animal?:Woolly Mammoth.

Favorite dessert(s)?: Blue Moon ice cream, and chocolate eclairs.

November 11

College Visitor's Day

Band Concert 7:00

Fall Musical: She Loves Me 7:30

November 12

Student Performances 7:00

Fall Musical: She Loves Me 7:30

November 15

Girls BB vs Cadott

November 17

Girls BB vs Lincoln

November 19

Game Night 7:00

Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Upcoming Events

bottom of page